Tip of the Day

How to Free Up Disk Space Used By Snapshots

Depending on how your data is changing on a reevert volume, you may see a lot of space being reported as snapshots usage.

To find out how much space is being used by your snapshots, go to “Shares and Snapshots” and pay attention to “Space Used By Snapshots” numbers for each of your shares.

Reevert is very efficient when it comes to storing your data. Filesystem compression and dynamic block sizes are two main elements that help to achieve that level of efficiency.

However, if you are storing large chunks of data files that rapidly change each and every day, your snapshots will be using a considerable amount of disk space.

A good example is when you use a reevert volume to store daily SQL Server backup files. Your SQL server will create a new set of backup files each night, and will delete some files depending on what is your SQL Server clean-up maintenance job.

Although non-compressed SQL Server backup files will be heavily compressed on a reevert volume, having a large data set - for instance 100GB - will cause your snapshots to consume a large amount of data.

If available storage space is a constraint and expanding your data pool is not an option, you can either go with shorter snapshot retention periods or do manual housekeeping from time to time.

To Change your snapshot retention periods, go to “Snapshot Settings” and reduce snapshot retentions:

 Shares and Snapshot settings - reevert

Please note that changing retention numbers and seeing results will not always be immediate.

For instance, if you change your daily retention settings, it will be applied next time a daily snapshot task runs (1am each day, for the example above).

If you reduce the daily retention number, older snapshots exceeding the new number will be deleted next morning. That can potentially help free up some space.

The exact same situation applies to all other types of snapshot retentions including Daily, Weekly and Monthly ones.

Read Snapshot Settings documentation for more information and details about this section of the admin panel.

To go with the manual housekeeping approach, all that needs to be done is to choose a single snapshot - most usually an older one - and deleting it.

To do so, go to “Shares and Snapshots”, pick the share you want and, then select a snapshot. Click the “Delete Snap” button to delete it.

Delete Snapshot - reevert

This usually takes a few seconds to complete. Once completed, refresh the “Snapshots and Settings” page to see if there was a size reduction in “Space Used By Snapshots” section. You may need to repeat this a few times to free up as much space you need.

If you are deleting a snapshot that has already been uploaded to Amazon S3 (marked with green color), only local snapshot will be deleted and the cloud one will remain intact.

To find out more about Shares and Snapshots, read the documentation here.

Try Us

Free Trial    Watch Demo

 

For a hassle free 30 day trial, click the "Free Trial" button, download and deploy a copy of the appliance. No Credit Card required.